top of page

WELCOME TO MY BLOG!

COMMERCIAL DANCE

Commercial dance is a fusion of nearly every dance style you could imagine and the commercial industry is simply the money making side of things! In commercial dance we see jazz,hip-hop,street,ballet and tap elements which makes it such a wide and varied dance style!

This module has taught me a lot about commercial dance and the industry so lets get started with an overview on my development!

Over the past ten weeks I have gained a lot more knowledge and understanding on what commercial dance is and what it actually entails. Commercial techniques has enhanced my understanding in more depth as we learnt where it comes from and how it has adapted over the years. As well as gaining knowledge on the industry I have grown confidence in performing the style and choreographing.

My development has mostly come from learning new things in this module. For example, the roots of commercial dance. I have learnt that historical events have had a huge impact on commercial dance and what we do today in class is because of certain factors of history causing dance to adapt overtime. This has enabled me to open my mind when doing a commercial dance class, I am now able to perform a dance style and understand where it has come from, what’s influenced it and what pioneers of dance have adapted it. Another thing I have developed from this module is a greater understanding on what commercial dance is. Before joining creative I had a narrow minded opinion on what commercial dance was, however, over the past ten weeks I have realised commercial is a whole range of styles as well as an income based industry. I have been able to develop technique on most of these styles especially in commercial jazz which I have also gained a lot more confidence in over the ten week period.

From doing this module I have learnt a lot about different commercial dance practitioners and their influences on commercial dance. There are a massive variety of choreographers that have had an impact on the commercial industry as we see it today. A few examples of these are Bob Fosse, Jerome Robbins, Katherine Dunham and loads more. Although all of these people have inspired me, one more recent choreographer that has really inspired me whilst training is Tricia Miranda.

Tricia Miranda is a choreographer from America who I first came across on youtube. She teaches classes at the Millennium dance complex in Hollywood and has also worked with people such as beyonce,Missy Elliot ,Britney Spears,Usher,Fergie, Black Eyed Peas and many more. She has also been an assistant choreographer for Brian Friedman and worked on the x factor USA and the film what to expect when you’re expecting. I think my main reason that I am inspired by her so much is the creativity of her work. I first started doing street dance by teaching myself, I would go on you tube and learn routines or learn off the tv. Once I started taking classes I got better but also by learning more complex routines off of youtube. I know many of Tricia Mirandas choreographies and loved learning them. She has also inspired me to be as successful as her, she is doing really well in her industry and has worked with some phenomenal people.

I have thoroughly enjoyed this module whilst learning a great deal that I didn’t know before. I really enjoyed being creative with choreography and making videos the most and overall I think my skills have developed over these 10 weeks massively.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page